Review: Enemy Within (Enemy, #1) by Marcella Burnard

After a stint in an alien prison, Captain Ari Rose wonders why she even bothered to survive. Stripped of her command and banished to her father’s scientific expedition to finish a Ph.D. she doesn’t want, Ari never planned to languish quietly behind a desk. She wasn’t built for it, either. But when pirates commandeer her father’s ship, Ari once again becomes a prisoner.

As far as pirate leader Cullin is concerned, Ari’s past imprisonment puts her dead center in Cullin’s sights. If she hasn’t been brainwashed and returned as a spy, then he’s convinced she must be part of a traitorous alliance endangering billions of lives. Cullin can’t afford the desire she fires within him and he’ll stop at nothing, including destroying her, to uncover the truth.

I enjoyed this book, but I didn’t love it.  I thought is was more an Urban Fantasy then a SF Romance book.  The first couple of chapters were a little to techie and I’m a lover of Spock “Live long and prosper” is my motto.  The world building is not your average world building, the world MB built was Space, navigation and cool techie terms.  My hat goes off to MB for detail for said navigation and flight operations!  I don’t know where she got such detailed information about flying a ship but it was amazing.  If she made that up!  Wow!

Chekydran were the perfect enemy and I loathed them.  The secondary characters were well rounded and she put a lot of thought into each one.  Why the three smiles you ask.  I don’t think I connected to the hero or the heroine.  Good world building, I liked the characters, I think that it was a little to technical and not enough umphf from my main characters for me to love it. Will I read more by this author, yes it was a good and enjoyable book.

Flow of book – 3
Believable romance – 2
Overall Plot – 4
World building – 5

Leave a Reply

