Review: World War Z by Max Brooks

The Zombie War came unthinkably close to eradicating humanity. Max Brooks, driven by the urgency of preserving the acid-etched first-hand experiences of the survivors from those apocalyptic years, traveled across the United States of America and throughout the world, from decimated cities that once teemed with upwards of thirty million souls to the most remote and inhospitable areas of the planet. He recorded the testimony of men, women, and sometimes children who came face-to-face with the living, or at least the undead, hell of that dreadful time. World War Z is the result

As of right now I’m on a Zombie kick. This book came highly recommended via my mom. Since, there is a movie coming out with Mr. Delicious himself, Brad Pitt I knew that I wanted to read it.

It was pretty good overall. I had no complaints that the flow of the book was good or what was trying to be said or done wasn’t laid out before me. I just find the journalistic style boring. It has already happened and this is what has happened. I’m just not into that.

There were really good stories, that honestly would have been interesting to read about. The kid that didn’t have a clue, to glued to the internet to actually look outside his window. His story would have been worth reading. That’s what I want in my Zombie stories. The unknown of the survivor! I don’t want to know who’s going to make it, what has happened by a news report. I like the struggle and fight for survival. Will my main hero make it? I don’t know, so don’t tell me the climax.

The writing is good and the stories were good, I just wanted the unknown of survival.

I bought this book myself.

Leave a Reply

