The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The New York Times bestselling The Hunger Games, with an all-new cover from the major motion picture! The astonishing bestseller is now a fantastic movie, set to release on March 23rd, 2012!

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister Primrose, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before — and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

My Thoughts

Shockingly Fantastic!

I can’t express how much I loved this book! At first I was a little hesitant to read it. My first thought was teenage gladiators killing little kids. Nope, not for me.

I’m glad that I was talked into this book. I know that a lot of people complained there was “No down with the capital”. That’s not what this book was about though! This book to me was about everyday people that struggle in life and suddenly, through no fault of there own, are thrust into situations not of their own making.

Basically, Katniss is by no means wanting to be anyone’s hero. All she wants is to bring home enough food to feed her mother and sister. She’s actually chanting in her head during the reaping “not me, not me”. Now here it is, the situation not of her own making but a government completely out of control.

The games are action none stop. Spitfire, survivalist, Katniss is all this and more. The scene with Rue, absolutely touching. I cried!

I wanted to know what the viewers thought of the games but the only hints you get are small tokens from sponsors. SC keeps you completely in the dark on the goings on outside of the Arena. You are cocooned right along with all the tributes. I think for me it gave me more of an insight of how they felt.

I bought this book myself

One response to “The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. Teenage gladiators killing little kids. lol xD
    I love this book a lot too. I was soooo glad that I read it. Everyone kept recommending it to me. Eventually I gave in when I saw them all 3 in the bookstore. I am over the top excited about the movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

