Review: Magic Lost, Trouble Found by Lisa Shearin


A new fantasy series launches with this title. Raine Benares is a Sorceress Seeker of average ability until she comes into possession of an amulet that amplifies her powers–and her enemies.



My Review
Worthy Fantasy Read

Let me just start off by saying that I really enjoyed this book. The world building was good. I thought along the lines of Barbados with some magic and twist of medieval. It wasn’t quite a 5 for me in the since, that I could put it down and didn’t go to bed with it on my mind. I like Raine, she’s tough and smart but the snarky, head drama going on in her head got a little tiresome.

The book starts off with Raine in an alley and I was sorta confused and intrigued. I think that it was more on the lines of “Wow” this just started right off in the middle of trouble going on. And Trouble is Raine’s middle name, this girl can’t stay out of it and literally trouble is looking for her. Action wise you won’t be left for wanting; there is a lot of it. Magic wise I wanted a little more and the descriptions were on the vague side.

There is even a little romance thrown in. Nothing hot and heavy but there is some girl, boy tension going on. I’m not sure who is my favorite, Tam or Mycheal? I think that the secondary characters are done very well; Piaras is an adorable Spell singer. I wouldn’t mind learning more about him.

The ending was satisfying but I was a little confused if Raine was going to end up smooching on Mychael in the Mid or if she was going to forget about Tam altogether. Then again, Raine seemed a little confused herself. Who can blame her though? Hot blue eyes or Goblin delicious! That would be a hard one for me to.
Guess I will have to wait and see!
4 of 5 stars I liked this one a lot.

I bought this book myself

Leave a Reply

